Bishop Mark O’Toole

Plymouth Diocese

The Bridport Parish is part of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Plymouth

Plymouth Diocese is in the West Country and consists of the counties of Cornwall (with the Isles of Scilly), Devon and Dorset (west of the original county boundary, which includes two parishes in Bournemouth).

His Holiness Pope Francis greets Bishop Mark O’Toole (Bishop of Plymouth)

Diocesan Mission Statement

A Celebrating Church – Expressing what we believe in our worship, engaging with the gift of liturgy, and allowing ourselves to be renewed in it.

A Caring Church – Seeking to understand the sufferings of those around us, reaching out and being Christ to one another, and serving the world.

A Learning Church – Deepening our understanding of our faith, humbling ourselves to learn from Our Lord and each other, and discovering our true nature as the body of Christ.

A Living Church – Empowering all around us with the presence and joy of the Holy Spirit, proclaiming Christ to the world, and being faithful to our mission.

The Spirit of the Lord has been given to me, for he has anointed me.

He has sent me to bring good news to the poor, to proclaim liberty to captives and to the blind new sight, to set the downtrodden free, to proclaim the Lord’s year of favour. (Luke 4:8-19)

Plymouth Diocese website please click here

Contact Details:

Address: Bishop’s House, 45 Cecil Street, Plymouth, Devon, PL1 5HW
Telephone: 01752 224 414
Fax: 01752 223 750

Bishop’s Private Secretary: Canon Keith Mitchell

Bishop’s Personal Assistant: Miss Emma King